The Beginning of An Era. Hopefully…

My Critique Partner, Christi Corbett has been after me to set up and actually maintain a WordPress site since sometime around the passage of the last ice age. Like many of the dinosaurs, I almost didn’t evolve enough to survive that ice age. I was clinging to Blogger, which, I’ll still continue to lurk and follow people there, but it’s gotten impossible to deal with. Often half of the few comments left on any posts I manage to write are from spambots, and often I’m forced to fight with managing blogs I follow because they randomly filled with hundreds of fake spam posts from fake spam blog accounts. So, here I am!

On my Blogger blog, I wrote posts which covered a little of everything. Since I was still in the throes of trying to ‘make it’ as a writer, I felt like I needed to have a lot of filler posts to make up for not having a ton of book information to put out there. Now I have one book contracted, and due out next year, and several WIPs I’m working on which have a future. At least, I’m looking at them now with different eyes than I’ve looked at WIPs in the past, when I had no idea if they’d ever see daylight. Now, I’m looking at my WIPs from the perspective of they will get out there. I see them as pieces of work which are completely marketable until they prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that for some reason they aren’t marketable.

With my WordPress blog, I intend to focus more on writing, and instead of trying to get posts out constantly, my goal is to put one post up a week. A little recap, if you will. Anyone who knows me, or has followed my other Blogger account, know that there will inevitably be animals, and farm antics involved, too. I can’t help but let a little daily life creep in alongside the writing life. But my primary goal is to focus on writing. I hope you’ll join me on this new venture!

3 thoughts on “The Beginning of An Era. Hopefully…

  1. Reblogged this on Christi Corbett's Blog and commented:
    My Critique Partner Started a Blog! And her debut novel is scheduled to release the first half of next year (unsure of date yet, but I’ll keep you posted). Pop over and show her new blog some love šŸ™‚

  2. Looking forward to reading future offerings. Love the honesty behind blogging as an aspiring writer. I struggle with filler. As a result I don’t write as many posts as I should. And of course looking forward to the book launch next year.

Leave a Reply

